The winner of this year’s prize is Heather Arvidson’s “Numb Modernism: Sentiment and the Intellectual Left in Tess Slesinger’s The Unpossessed.” The judge is Cristanne Miller, SUNY Distinguished Professor and Edward H. Butler Professor of Literature at Buffalo SUNY. She has published extensively on nineteenth- and early twentieth-century poetry, including Marianne Moore: Questions of Authority (1994) and Cultures of Modernism: Marianne Moore, Mina Loy, and Else Lasker-Schüler; Gender and Literary Community in New York and Berlin (2005). She coedited Selected Letters of Marianne Moore and, most recently, has edited a new volume of Emily Dickinson’s complete poems, Emily Dickinson’s Poems: As She Preserved Them (2016). Miller founded and currently directs the Marianne Moore Digital Archive (, which is publishing in facing-page manuscript and annotated, transcribed format all 122 of Moore’s working notebooks.

Professor Miller writes:

The excellent nominated essays for this year’s prize covered an interesting and...

You do not currently have access to this content.