1-20 of 28 Search Results for

Jamesian style

Follow your search
Access your saved searches in your account

Would you like to receive an alert when new items match your search?
Close Modal
Sort by
Journal Article
Novel (2013) 46 (2): 319–322.
Published: 01 August 2013
... of nineteenth- and twentieth-century fiction, and it produces exhilarating new interpretations of particular authors and texts. In his chapter on Henry James, for example, Kurnick offers one of the most perceptive accounts of Jamesian style that I have ever read. Attending to the often acknowledged...
Journal Article
Novel (2020) 53 (1): 57–75.
Published: 01 May 2020
..., which is founded in and embraces interpretative struggle, can provide possible ways forward in this regard. Copyright © 2020 Katherine Kruger 2020 Post-critical reading Jamesian style Romantic child childhood transparency With the publication of Henry James's Prefaces, his wish to take...
Journal Article
Novel (2010) 43 (3): 401–423.
Published: 01 November 2010
... in its narrative. The importance of Jamesian tact extends, I argue, to current studies of literary character and novelistic form, where a reading of James can help critics to develop theories of the novel that place ethics at the center of formalist criticism. Such repositioning can help us get a clearer...
Journal Article
Novel (2015) 48 (1): 45–62.
Published: 01 May 2015
... with intelligence and its exercise. At its heart, Jamesian intelligence is characterized by “appreciation,” or the ability to “get most” out of a situation or person; consequently, stupidity offers an alternative dynamic that suspends interest in order to protect persons and things from knowledge, exploitation...
Journal Article
Novel (2016) 49 (3): 467–485.
Published: 01 November 2016
.... In considering how this prose might be “minimal,” I suggest that the often irritating texture of James's style might reflect an ultimately political reticence toward representation. Emphasizing the resolute unproductivity of Jamesian style, the present essay argues against a view of James's writing...
Journal Article
Novel (2018) 51 (2): 308–321.
Published: 01 August 2018
... the characters in the text. At the same time, the actions these characters undertake are virtuosic examples of Jamesian indirection. Maggie manages to save her marriage precisely by refusing to acknowledge the wrongs that have been done to her; her efforts all take place entirely on what we might call...
Journal Article
Novel (2023) 56 (2): 228–255.
Published: 01 August 2023
... Quantity: On Sexuality and Jamesian Style .” Henry James Review 33 . 2 ( 2012 ): 110 – 26 . Stone Sandy . “ The Empire Strikes Back: A Posttranssexual Manifesto .” Stryker and Whittle 221 – 35 . Stryker Susan , and Aizura Aren Z. , eds. The Transgender Studies...
Journal Article
Novel (2001) 34 (3): 369–390.
Published: 01 November 2001
... within a relational field, is a necessary byproduct of the new social, spatial and visual conditions of the turn-of-the-century metropolis. While the Jamesian project has always been seen as a "modernizing" one, aspiring to no less than the redefinition of the novel in aesthetic and technical...
Journal Article
Novel (2010) 43 (3): 506–509.
Published: 01 November 2010
... The Princess Casamassima. If Puckett, like James himself, sometimes chews more than he bites off—as when he takes an unremarkable Jamesian locution (“the sort of little chap he had in his eye”) as suf- ficient cause for an abrupt and rather mannered excursus on the Freudian concept of scoto- mization...
Journal Article
Novel (2001) 34 (3): 411–433.
Published: 01 November 2001
... it. This is a characteristic Jamesian gesture, to narrate a person's idea of an event more than the event it- self. Yet it should not be understood as a simple substitution of one subject for another: shifting the focus from figures on a terrace to persons' recollections of that experience is not like shifting...
Journal Article
Novel (2009) 42 (1): 40–61.
Published: 01 May 2009
..., the version of Jamesian subjectivity I am offering differs greatly from the vision of truth and subjectivity organized around “cash value” that emerges in his later work in Pragmatism. One of the goals in this part of the essay is to retrieve what I believe to be a more supple model...
Journal Article
Novel (2017) 50 (1): 56–76.
Published: 01 May 2017
... and from high modernist repudiation of region: her early attachment to the fiction of James and the gravitational pull of naturalist writers like Norris and Stephen Crane. While Cather's O Pioneers! (1913) sheds many of the superficial Jamesian elements she felt had weighed down her first novel...
Journal Article
Novel (2013) 46 (3): 491–495.
Published: 01 November 2013
... been proposed by Charles Darwin and William James, and she argues for an embedded, Jamesian approach to modernist representations of the mind as an alternative to the defensive, Freudian model that has dominated our interpretations. Waugh ultimately observes that “the essential problem...
Journal Article
Novel (2021) 54 (3): 321–334.
Published: 01 November 2021
... is taken over by the artist surrogate Kate Croy, who rewrites that plot as if to simulate the style of the Jamesian sentence in which the gratification of the end justifies the extraordinarily difficult means of reaching it. The cold-bloodedness with which Kate engineers and executes this plot so...
Journal Article
Novel (2020) 53 (1): 37–56.
Published: 01 May 2020
..., was a “mission” before which “the serenest of creators might have quailed” ( Ambassadors xli–xlii ). According to the canons of Jamesian form, reflectors, too, have their functions to fulfil, which notably include allowing “other persons” to “people the scene,” “each with his or her axe to grind, his or her...
Journal Article
Novel (2020) 53 (3): 341–359.
Published: 01 November 2020
... James revisits the material of human subjective activity (Mimesis 1 ) and follows the path of many realist writers in presenting more seriously unexceptional characters that are nonetheless coaxed into significance as bearers of an action. As Peter Brooks has put it, the “motor” of a Jamesian plot...
Journal Article
Novel (2012) 45 (2): 184–201.
Published: 01 August 2012
... within the tradition of James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Joseph Conrad, and Marcel Proust, whose attempts to rep- resent subjective interiority were accompanied by new psychological discourses such as Freudian psychoanalysis and Jamesian introspectionism.4 The trajectories of literature and psychology...
Journal Article
Novel (2023) 56 (1): 85–104.
Published: 01 May 2023
... to modernism, nevertheless tend to fetishize the same negative formal phenomena that traditional modernism valued so highly. In one sense, this suggests that Kent Puckett's recent paraphrase of the Jamesian attitude toward narrative failure—“[if] we seem to want a narrative that perfectly manages...
Journal Article
Novel (2019) 52 (1): 64–83.
Published: 01 May 2019
... Book Club to take a stand for high literary purity, purged of the open gesture to a mass market made by the trademark book club cover sticker—a Jamesian move to elevate the novel by refusing a conventionalized paratextual address for our time, perhaps. But Franzen apologized and later accepted...
Journal Article
Novel (2018) 51 (3): 502–524.
Published: 01 November 2018
... the proposal by the Simplified Spelling Board, of which his brother William actually appears as a member. In turn, William James's fellow founder of American pragmatism, the self-styled “pragmaticist” Peirce, responded to the Simplified Spelling Board in ways that resonate with the Jamesian critique...