The history of the Alamo is not just 1836. This attractive little book, written and published primarily for the layman, summarizes the highlights of the Alamo’s past from its founding in 1718 to the year of its suppression in 1793. The work is basically a corrected revision of chapters 2 and 3 of the author’s earlier The Alamo Chain of Missions: A History of San Antonio’s Five Old Missions. Father Habig stresses the role of the individual missionaries, and a chronological list of the Franciscans who worked at the Alamo is included. The sketch maps are especially valuable for understanding the relation of the missions to the unique riverside setting that made them possible.