1-20 of 49 Search Results for

vandover

Sort by
Journal Article
American Literature (2001) 73 (3): 525–562.
Published: 01 September 2001
... in a fit of laughter, obscene and touching Their actions intensify simultaneouslygrinning and cryingmovingheadto headuntil they both lie down, exhausted, the dog’s ‘‘head flat along her knees’’ (N, 169–70). For readers of Frank Norris’s novel Vandover and the Brute (1895), whose main character ends...
Journal Article
American Literature (2016) 88 (4): 787–814.
Published: 01 December 2016
... of noxious “smellscapes” structures Norris’s Vandover and the Brute (1914), I move on to consider the use of smell in key scenes in the writings of Ann Petry and Helena Viramontes. While environmental justice novels extend Norris’s interest in connections between smell, health, and stratified air, they also...
Journal Article
American Literature (2006) 78 (3): 487–517.
Published: 01 September 2006
...—especially two virile men—as much more insidious. My reading will complicate previous discussions of the same-sex desire classified as inversion in Norris’s Vandover and the Brute (1914) with an examination of a much less familiar type in McTeague (com- posed at roughly the same time as Vandover).14...
Journal Article
American Literature (2021) 93 (4): 601–628.
Published: 01 December 2021
.... For both New Thought and naturalist writers, the greatest threat the body poses is its powerful capacity for sexual desire, which poisons the higher functioning of the mind. In Norris’s Vandover and the Brute , written in 1894–95 and first published in 1914, the protagonist is an artist unable to tap...
Journal Article
American Literature (2020) 92 (3): 485–511.
Published: 01 September 2020
... and the Fictions of Capital . New York : Oxford Univ. Press . Jennings Randee Dax . 2014 . “ The Economy of Affect in Frank Norris’s Vandover and the Brute .” Studies in the Novel 46 , no. 3 : 335 – 53 . Kant Immanuel . 2007 . Critique of Judgement . New York : Oxford Univ. Press...
Journal Article
American Literature (2009) 81 (1): 193–196.
Published: 01 March 2009
...” among aspiring writers and painters. (Some of the works that appear in these interjections are Theodore Dreiser’s The Genius, Émile Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we...
Journal Article
American Literature (2009) 81 (1): 196–198.
Published: 01 March 2009
... Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift gears, in part two, to a fascinating discussion of the founding of Washington, D.C., and the role of a simulacral Roman...
Journal Article
American Literature (2009) 81 (1): 199–200.
Published: 01 March 2009
... Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift gears, in part two, to a fascinating discussion of the founding of Washington, D.C., and the role of a simulacral Roman...
Journal Article
American Literature (2009) 81 (1): 201–203.
Published: 01 March 2009
... aspiring writers and painters. (Some of the works that appear in these interjections are Theodore Dreiser’s The Genius, Émile Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift...
Journal Article
American Literature (2009) 81 (1): 203–205.
Published: 01 March 2009
... Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift gears, in part two, to a fascinating discussion of the founding of Washington, D.C., and the role of a simulacral Roman...
Journal Article
American Literature (2009) 81 (1): 206–209.
Published: 01 March 2009
...” among aspiring writers and painters. (Some of the works that appear in these interjections are Theodore Dreiser’s The Genius, Émile Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we...
Journal Article
American Literature (2009) 81 (4): 747–773.
Published: 01 December 2009
... and the Animal People (1904); Frank Norris’s The Octopus (1901) and Vandover and the Brute (1914); and Jack London’s The Call of the Wild (1903), The Sea-Wolf (1904), and White Fang (1906). Con- sider also such cultural events as President Teddy (as in teddy bear) Roosevelt’s argument in the pages...
Journal Article
American Literature (2000) 72 (1): 181–182.
Published: 01 March 2000
... that have shaped the period’’ (16). AnalyzingNorris’s Vandover and the Brute, chapter 2 discusses capitalism as ‘‘a system that is inherently ludic’’ (39). Chapter 3, ‘‘The Strategy of Desire in McTeague...
Journal Article
American Literature (2000) 72 (1): 182–183.
Published: 01 March 2000
... that have shaped the period’’ (16). AnalyzingNorris’s Vandover and the Brute, chapter 2 discusses capitalism as ‘‘a system that is inherently ludic’’ (39). Chapter 3, ‘‘The Strategy of Desire in McTeague...
Journal Article
American Literature (2000) 72 (1): 183–185.
Published: 01 March 2000
... that have shaped the period’’ (16). AnalyzingNorris’s Vandover and the Brute, chapter 2 discusses capitalism as ‘‘a system that is inherently ludic’’ (39). Chapter 3, ‘‘The Strategy of Desire in McTeague...
Journal Article
American Literature (2000) 72 (1): 185–186.
Published: 01 March 2000
... that have shaped the period’’ (16). AnalyzingNorris’s Vandover and the Brute, chapter 2 discusses capitalism as ‘‘a system that is inherently ludic’’ (39). Chapter 3, ‘‘The Strategy of Desire in McTeague...
Journal Article
American Literature (2000) 72 (1): 186–187.
Published: 01 March 2000
... that have shaped the period’’ (16). AnalyzingNorris’s Vandover and the Brute, chapter 2 discusses capitalism as ‘‘a system that is inherently ludic’’ (39). Chapter 3, ‘‘The Strategy of Desire in McTeague...
Journal Article
American Literature (2000) 72 (1): 187–188.
Published: 01 March 2000
... that have shaped the period’’ (16). AnalyzingNorris’s Vandover and the Brute, chapter 2 discusses capitalism as ‘‘a system that is inherently ludic’’ (39). Chapter 3, ‘‘The Strategy of Desire in McTeague...
Journal Article
American Literature (2000) 72 (1): 188–189.
Published: 01 March 2000
... that have shaped the period’’ (16). AnalyzingNorris’s Vandover and the Brute, chapter 2 discusses capitalism as ‘‘a system that is inherently ludic’’ (39). Chapter 3, ‘‘The Strategy of Desire in McTeague...
Journal Article
American Literature (2000) 72 (1): 189–190.
Published: 01 March 2000
... that have shaped the period’’ (16). AnalyzingNorris’s Vandover and the Brute, chapter 2 discusses capitalism as ‘‘a system that is inherently ludic’’ (39). Chapter 3, ‘‘The Strategy of Desire in McTeague...