1-20 of 47 Search Results for

vandover

Follow your search
Access your saved searches in your account

Would you like to receive an alert when new items match your search?
×Close Modal
Sort by
Journal Article
American Literature (1 December 2016) 88 (4): 787–814.
Published: 01 December 2016
... noxious “smellscapes” structures Norris’s Vandover and the Brute (1914), I move on to consider the use of smell in key scenes in the writings of Ann Petry and Helena Viramontes. While environmental justice novels extend Norris’s interest in connections between smell, health, and stratified air, they also...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 September 2001) 73 (3): 525–562.
Published: 01 September 2001
... in a fit of laughter, obscene and touching Their actions intensify simultaneouslygrinning and cryingmovingheadto headuntil they both lie down, exhausted, the dog’s ‘‘head flat along her knees’’ (N, 169–70). For readers of Frank Norris’s novel Vandover and the Brute (1895), whose main character...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 September 2006) 78 (3): 487–517.
Published: 01 September 2006
... desire between men—especially two virile men—as much more insidious. My reading will complicate previous discussions of the same-sex desire classified as inversion in Norris’s Vandover and the Brute (1914) with an examination of a much less familiar type in McTeague (com- posed at roughly the same...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2009) 81 (1): 193–196.
Published: 01 March 2009
... Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift gears, in part two, to a fascinating discussion of the founding of Washington, D.C., and the role of a simulacral Roman architecture in the...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2009) 81 (1): 196–198.
Published: 01 March 2009
... painters. (Some of the works that appear in these interjections are Theodore Dreiser’s The Genius, Émile Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift gears, in part two, to a...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2009) 81 (1): 199–200.
Published: 01 March 2009
... painters. (Some of the works that appear in these interjections are Theodore Dreiser’s The Genius, Émile Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift gears, in part two, to a...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2009) 81 (1): 201–203.
Published: 01 March 2009
... bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift gears, in part two, to a fascinating discussion of the founding of Washington, D.C., and the role of a simulacral Roman architecture in the complicated game of national myth making, Banta cements the link between Art Ideas and national self...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2009) 81 (1): 203–205.
Published: 01 March 2009
... interjections are Theodore Dreiser’s The Genius, Émile Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift gears, in part two, to a fascinating discussion of the founding of Washington...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2009) 81 (1): 206–209.
Published: 01 March 2009
..., Émile Zola’s The Masterpiece, Rudyard Kipling’s The Light that Failed, and Frank Norris’s harrowing tale of San Francisco bohemia, Vandover and the Brute.) When we shift gears, in part two, to a fascinating discussion of the founding of Washington, D.C., and the role of a simulacral Roman...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 December 2009) 81 (4): 747–773.
Published: 01 December 2009
... Alexander Eastman’s 750  American Literature Red Hunters and the Animal People (1904); Frank Norris’s The Octopus (1901) and Vandover and the Brute (1914); and Jack London’s The Call of the Wild (1903), The Sea-Wolf (1904), and White Fang (1906). Con- sider also such cultural events as President...
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 196–197.
Published: 01 March 2000
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 197–198.
Published: 01 March 2000
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 199.
Published: 01 March 2000
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 200.
Published: 01 March 2000
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 200–201.
Published: 01 March 2000
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 202.
Published: 01 March 2000
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 203–204.
Published: 01 March 2000
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 204–206.
Published: 01 March 2000
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 206–207.
Published: 01 March 2000
Journal Article
American Literature (1 March 2000) 72 (1): 207–208.
Published: 01 March 2000