The Norman Foerster Prize for the best essay published in American Literature in 2022 was awarded to Ana Schwartz for her essay “Imperative Reading: Brothertown and Sister Fowler” (94:4, December 2022). An honorable mention was awarded to Douglas S. Ishii for his essay “The Diversity Requirement; or, The Ambivalent Contingency of the Asian American Student Teacher” (94:4, December 2022). Members of the judging committee were Elizabeth Dillon (chair), Northeastern University; Ren Ellis Neyra, Wesleyan University; and Matthew Hooley, Clemson University.

You do not currently have access to this content.